Web Accessibility - Same Chances for All

For most people, the use of the internet has become a common thing. There is a constantly growing number of ways and devices to access the web. Along with this, the number of stakeholder groups gets bigger and bigger. Accessibility is a way to ensure the access to the internet for all stakeholder groups.

Approximately eight percent of all people are physically handicapped in a way which threatens their access to information from the web. About ten percent of males suffer from light forms of color blindness. An estimated quarter of all working people live with different degrees of ametropia.

Barrier-free webdesign tries to grant access to content and interaction on the web for all these user groups. Especially for people who, physically or mentally impaired, have a reduced ability to take part in social life, the web is a unique possibility to communicate. But more often than not, they are hindered by technical barriers. Most of these barriers, however, can be eliminated by the right way of programming.

Web Accessiblity seeks to understand how people use the web, how they perceive information and how a maximum number of different stakeholder groups can be supported in their perception without impeding others from doing so.

back

Web Accessiblity - Gleiche Chancen für alle

Für die meisten Menschen ist die Nutzung des Internets mittlerweile zur Selbstverständlichkeit geworden. Auf immer mehr Arten kann man auf das Internet zugreifen, ständig kommen neue Geräte auf den Markt. Damit steigt auch die Zahl der verschiedenen Benutzergruppen. Accessibility versucht, allen Benutzergruppen den Zugang zum Internet zu gewährleisten.

Etwa acht Prozent aller Menschen sind physisch in einer Weise eingeschränkt, welche ihnen den Zugang zu Informationen aus dem Internet erschwert. Etwa zehn Prozent der männlichen Bevölkerung leiden unter leichten Formen der Farbenblindheit. Insgesamt klagt rund ein Viertel der berufstätigen Menschheit über verschiedene Grade der Fehlsichtigkeit.

Barrierefreies Webdesign versucht, all diesen Benutzergruppen den Zugang zu Inhalten und Interaktion im Netz zu gewährleisten. Gerade für Menschen, die durch körperliche oder geistige Behinderungen nur eingeschränkt am gesellschaftlichen Leben teilnehmen können bietet das Web einmalige Chancen zur Kommunikation. Oft jedoch werden sie durch technische Barrieren zunichte gemacht. Viele dieser Barrieren können durch entsprechende Berücksichtigung eliminiert werden.

Web Accessibility will verstehen, wie Menschen das Web nutzen, wie sie Informationen wahrnehmen und wie möglichst viele unterschiedliche Gruppen bei der Wahrnehmung unterstützt werden können, ohne dass Andere behindert oder ausgeschlossen werden.

zurück