Usability - for Usable Websites

Design
In times of Web 2.0 it is mostly "feelgood"-colors, clear-cut contrasts and a plastic look that can be seen on websites. This has its reason. A study published in Spiegel magazine shows that within just about 20 milliseconds, the human eye decides whether it wants to stay on a website. This is most important, of course, for "walk-in" users. Nevertheless, and that is the important part, you can transmit an emotion on the very first sight. This is why big beautiful pictures in the header section of a page are en vogue. Of course, if you don't get it right, you can make a lot of mistakes here.

Furthermore you can influence the behaviour of the visitor by sticking to the reading path (Kress / van Leeuwen): in western culture, we are used to read from left to right and from top to bottom. By placing content along this path you can prioritize them, thus controlling what a visitor will read first and what he will read after.

Elements which are too large will not be perceived. This, too, has been proved by a study: a download button which is too big is simply overlooked. This may seem paradox, but it's true. Generally you can say that a website is usable if the relevant information can be perceived by the eye right away and if the navigational structure grants access to all information by making a minimum of clicks using multiple paths.

Text
Regardless of what this article may suggest, long texts on websites are useless. Text blocks longer than ten lines will not be read. You can tackle this problem by structuring your content, using boxes, lines, headlines etc. Furthermore, highlighted keywords will facilitate reading. Just one thing: please don't use italics. PC screens simply can't cope with that.

In general, when it comes to text, consider that just about everyone thinks he is a writer. That is not true. Good texts meet certain standards which more often than not are thrown overboard. While this is not the place to get into these standards at length, just a tip: it pays to pay someone for redacting or writing/ghostwriting. The message you want to transmit depends to a large part on the language you use.

Structure
Whether a company's website has an "About us" or a "References"-page depends on its activity. When I visit the website of a company which does webdesign, the first thing I want to know is about the projects the company has put through so far. Depending on the scale of the job I have to to offer I may want to know about the size of the company. Small firms, therefore, may refrain from presenting their team using fotos and self-portrayal. The references-page on this website is the one with the most hits...

All in all you can say that there is no need for more than five main navigation items. Momentarily, what you can see on most pages is the division into Company / Competences / References / Contact. This is totally sufficient. Everything else can be allocated somewhere in these sections. Too many navigation items tire the eye. Web 2.0 standards emphasize the 7-point-rule: never use more than seven navigation items, be it on root level or on any of the levels lying below.

Usability is a convergential matter
You will hardly ever find a website which unites all usability guidelines. Especially in cases where accessibility plays a role besides usability, the implementation of all standards can become a real challenge. You may thus say: the important thing is to be aware of these guidelines and to implement them wherever possible. Depending on the website and its content, these guidelines may be seen with a certain degree of relativity, and their implementation is always a commonsense matter including all context - always a convergence towards an ideal.

back

Usability - für brauchbares Web

Design
In Zeiten von Web 2.0 ist sind es ja vor allem die "Gut drauf"-Farben, klare Kontraste und der Plastiklook, der sich grosser Beliebtheit erfreut. Das hat seinen Grund. Eine im Spiegel veröffentlichte Studie zeigt, dass sich das Auge in den ersten 20 Millisekunden entscheidet, ob es auf einer Seite bleibt. Das gilt natürlich vor allem für die "Laufkundschaft". Trotzdem lässt sich mit dem allerersten Eindruck ein Gefühl vermitteln. Genau deswegen ist es im Moment sehr "in", grosse schöne Bilder im Header zu haben, die gleich eine gewisse Emotion auslösen. Natürlich kann man, wenn man das falsch macht, auch grosse Fehler begehen.

Weiter kann man das Verhalten des Besuchers beeinflussen, indem man sich an den Reading Path (Kress / van Leeuwen) hält: in unserem Kulturkreis sind wir es gewohnt, von links nach rechts und von oben nach unten zu lesen. Genau so kann man den Besucher auch steuern. Indem man Inhalte, von denen man erwartet, dass sie ein Besucher finden möchte, entlang diesem Lesepfad so platziert, dass sie schnell ersichtlich sind.

Zu grosse Elemente werden nicht gesehen. Das hat ebenfalls eine Studie gezeigt: ein Download-Knopf, der zu gross ist, wird übersehen. Paradox, aber wahr. Grundsätzlich ist eine Webseite usable, wenn die relevante Information so schnell wie möglich vom Auge erfasst wird, und die Navigation so angelegt ist, dass man über verschiedene Wege und mit möglichst wenigen Klicks zu jeder Information gelangen kann.

Text
Ganz entgegen dessen, was dieser Eintrag vermittelt, sind lange Texte auf Webseiten sinnlos. Lauftexte, welche mehr als 10 Zeilen lang sind, werden nicht gelesen. Man kann dem entgegenwirken, indem man Inhalte gliedert, mit Kästchen, Linien, Überschriften usw. Ebenfalls erleichtert es das lesen, wenn Keywords herausstechen. Aber bitte keine Kursivschriften. PCs können kursive Schrift einfach nicht richtig rendern.

Im Allgemeinen lässt sich zu Texten sagen: jeder denkt, er könne schreiben. Das ist nicht so. Gute Texte entsprechen gewissen Standards, die sehr oft vernachlässigt werden. Darauf jetzt im speziellen einzugehen, wäre ein bisschen viel. Aber man kann nur sagen, es lohnt sich, jemanden zu zahlen, damit er Texte redigiert oder auch gleich selbst erfasst. Auf einer Webseite hängt sehr viel vom Text ab.

Struktur
Ob eine Firma nun "Über uns" oder "Referenzen"-Seiten hat, das kommt auf die Tätigkeit der Firma an. Wenn ich auf eine Webseite einer Webdesignfirma gehe, dann will ich als allererstes sehen, was sie bisher gemacht hat. Je nach Grösse des Auftrags kommt es mit auch darauf an, zu sehen, wie gross die Firma ist. Bei kleinen Firmen ist es deswegen eher zu empfehlen, ihr Team nicht mit Fotos und Selbstdarstellung zu präsentieren. Unsere Referenzen-Seite ist die bestbesuchte der ganzen Seite...

Allgemein kann man sagen, dass mehr als 5 Hauptmenupunkte nicht nötig sind. Im Moment sieht man meist die Unterteilung in Firma / Kompetenzen / Referenzen / Kontakt. Das reicht vollständig. Alles andere kann man irgendwo darunter einordnen. Zuviele Menupunkte machen das Auge müde. Web 2.0 Standard legt Wert auf die 7-Punkte-Regel: nie mehr als sieben Navigationseinträge, egal ob auf der Hauptebene oder auf einer darunter liegenden.

Usability ist ein Annäherungswert
Es gibt kaum eine Webseite, welche sämtliche Usability-Richtlinien zu vereinen vermag. Vor allem dann, wenn neben der Usability auch auf Barrierefreiheit Wert gelegt wird, kann das Befolgen aller Standards zu einer echten Herausforderung werden. Man kann also sagen: wichtig ist, sich diesen Richtlinien bewusst zu sein und sie, wenn immer möglich, zu befolgen. Je nach Webseite und Inhalt können diese Richtlinien mit einer gewissen Relativität betrachtet werden, und ihre Umsetzung ist unter anderem immer eine Frage des gesunden Menschenverstandes unter Einbezug des gesamten Kontexts - immer eine Annäherung an ein Ideal.

zurück